Health Provider - Fear of ALS

Bahbah

Reason
Learn about ALS
Diagnosis
00/0000
Country
US
First and foremost, I want to express my gratitude to the moderators for their unwavering support and guidance, especially in times of uncertainty and fear. Your dedication truly makes a difference.

Allow me to introduce myself—I'm a physician, but just like many of you here I understand all too well the challenges of battling health anxiety. Despite our training and knowledge, our minds can still play tricks on us, especially when it comes to our own health.

My journey down this anxiety-ridden road began recently, on 4-12-24, during a late-night work session. It started innocently enough with a slight twitch in the corner of my left eye. Brushing it off as fatigue, I thought little of it until a few days later when I noticed fasciculations in the tip of my tongue. As a medical professional, I couldn't help but let my mind wander to the worst-case scenario—ALS.

To make things worse, the casual off the cuff comment of a colleague only fueled my fears, “It’s probably ALS”, and I found myself immersed in a sea of internet searches and self-diagnosis. Every new symptom seemed to confirm my worst fears, and before I knew it, generalized fasciculations plagued my body, leaving me in a state of perpetual anxiety.

Despite my rational understanding of the situation, the physical manifestations of my anxiety persisted. Muscle relaxers, magnesium supplements, meditation—I tried them all, but the relief was fleeting. Even now, as I write this, the quivering of my left eye serves as a constant reminder of my turmoil.

I know deep down that I need to consult a neurologist for peace of mind, but my busy schedule presents a significant barrier. Rescheduling would inconvenience countless patients, and I can't bring myself to prioritize my concerns over theirs.